W101 Day 05

Writing 101: Building a Blogging Habit

Writing 101, Day Five: Be Brief
You discover a letter on a path that affects you deeply. Today, write about this encounter.
And your twist? Be as succinct as possible.

 

 

Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.
— Antoine de Saint-Exuper

Omit needless words.
— William Strunk, Jr. & E.B. White

it’s a letter i’ve found, while running in the park, not addressed to me and i break-out into a sweat that’s not from my exercise. despite the salutation, still not my name, i’ve read it; my regret is both immediate and immense. the content is serious and heart-breaking. sharing it with you would be an obvious violation of trust that any stranger should presume upon an encounter such as this. if it were a letter i wrote and lost, i would pray that you respect the same if a wind should blow it across your path.

ending my run earlier than usual, i sprint home. pen, envelope, and stamp are the only items i seek; the only things that fill my consciousness for the next few minutes. without attaching a note explaining who i am and what i’ve found, i copy the address, seal the letter, and affix the stamp. i race downstairs and place it in the outbound mail slot near the front door. it’s done.

climbing the stairs once more, i shed my clothes and enter the shower. i let the water, hotter than i usually dial it, pour over me longer than i usually let it.

 

 

12 thoughts on “W101 Day 05

  1. Nice imagination and enjoyable read! The best part for me was the mind twist – the possibility of that letter having been discarded by the author because he/she DIDN’T want to mail it after all ;-) Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is my favorite thing about posting a fiction piece (which I don’t do for my regular posts)… the reader is allowed to formulate interpretations that I never imagined. I never thought of that twist! Brilliant.

      Like

      • After I left you a comment, my mind started weaving a story :D That danged letter! My late father used to say Never Put Anything In Writing That You Don’t Want to Have Come Back and Haunt You Somewhere Down the Road. Your post brings that whole concept to life. Very inspirational piece.

        Like

wanna say something?

